Ecumenical councils


Ecumenical councils: (from oikoumenikos, ‘worldwide’) conferences of the bishops of the whole church; the first seven ‘universal’ councils of the orthodox church, given imperial confirmation and the binding force of the law: Nicaea I (325); Constantinople I (381); Ephesus (431); Chalcedon (451); Constantinople II (553); Constantinople III (680–1);
Nicaea II (787).

  • You must to post comments
Showing 0 results
Your Answer
Post as a guest by filling out the fields below or if you already have an account.
Add your image
File Name Size
There are currently no files uploaded.
Maximum number of files 5, maximum file size 2MB.
Supported file formats: gif jpeg jpg png